ABCO Home (click here)
Home Page
About Us
News & Archives
Exam Information
Resources, Schools, etc.
ABCO Listing / Search
Contact Us

Board of Directors


Bill Bailey, DC, DABCO
Metairie, LA


Catherine Cummins, DC, CSCS, DABCO
Portland, OR


Norman Corlew, DC, DABCO
Rialto, CA


Chris Bunker, DC, DABCO
Las Vegas, NV

Public Member

Paul Davis, DC, DABCO
Anaheim, CA

David Gregg, DC, DABCO
San Diego, CA








The American Board of Chiropractic Orthopedics (ABCO) is a voluntary, non-profit, professional credentialing board that certifies qualified chiropractic physicians and practitioners engaged in the field of chiropractic medicine who have met the professional knowledge standards established by the Board.

Definition of Chiropractic Orthopedics

“Chiropractic Orthopedics is defined as the branch of chiropractic medicine that includes the continued acquisition of knowledge relative to both normal functions and diseases of the body as they relate to the bones, joints, capsules, discs, muscles, ligaments, tendons, their complete neurological components, referred organ systems and contiguous tissues; AND the development and perfection of skills relative to health maintenance when such exists and when not, the historical review, physical detection, correlative diagnosis development and complete management of any disorder within the bounds defined herein; AND the delivery of the combined knowledge and skill on a primary basis to patients who both need and desire this service to eventual outcome of remission, whenever resolution is not readily available.”

Mission Statement

It is the mission of ABCO to perpetuate, enhance and improve the practice of chiropractic orthopedics by continuing to develop and improve educational recommendations, examinations, and recertification activities to insure the best possible care for out patients.


1. To establish minimum educational and clinical standards in the specialty of chiropractic orthopedics.

2. To determine that candidates desiring certification by the American Board of Chiropractic Orthopedists have satisfied requisites of professional education and experience as stated in the Rules and Procedures in force at time of application.

3. To develop certifying examination and recertifying examinations and activities consistent with the prevailing trends in specialty practice.

4. To administer and conduct ABCO certifying examinations for the purpose of evaluating all candidates for their proficiency in chiropractic orthopedics.

5. To certify and designate as Diplomates of the American Board of Chiropractic Orthopedists (DABCO) those candidate who have fulfilled all requirements for such status.

6. To provide avenues for recertification for all interested Diplomates of the board.

7. To protect in every proper and reasonable way the professional welfare and interest of the Diplomates of this Board.

Code of Ethics  

arrow Regardless of any other professional affiliation, the ABCO Code of Ethics (Code)
applies to: all individuals certified by the ABCO as a Board Certified Chiropractic
Orthopedist, as a Diplomate of the American Board of Chiropractic Orthopedists
(DABCO), and those individuals seeking ABCO certification (candidates).
The Code serves as the minimum ethical standard for the professional
behavior of ABCO Diplomates and candidates.

Code of Ethics  

ABCO is developing a strong contingent of committee members dedicated to the process of:

Examination Development
- The Examination Development Committee is continually developing and improving the testing process of the examination. The exam format is comprised of practical clinical simulations that are appropriate for a chiropractor entering the specialty of orthopedics. This committee focuses on on-going examination development. In addition to the current committee test development is complemented by an Advisory Board of subject matter experts from the chiropractic colleges as well as those in private practice. Including, but not limited to:

Advisory Board
Appa Anderson, DC, DACBR
Thomas F. Bergmann, DC, FICC
Robin McCauley Bozark, DC, FACO
Scott Chapman, DC, DABCO
Joseph A. Cimino DC, BSc
Robert Cooperstein, MA, DC
Manuel Duarte, DC, MS, DABCO, DACBSP, CSCS
Warren I. Hammer, DC, MS, DABCO
Thomas E. Hyde, DC, DACBSP®
Claire Johnson, MSEd, DC
Lisa Zaynab Killinger, DC
Steven L. Kleinfield, DC, FACO
Matthew H. Kowalski, DC, DABCO
Dana J. Lawrence, DC
Craig Liebenson, DC
Bill Moreau, DC, DACBSP®, CSCS
Donald R. Murphy, DC, DACAN
Laney Nelson DC, DACBSP
Edward Rothman, DC, DABCO
Philip T. Santiago, DC, DACBSP, FICC, FACC
Thomas Souza, DC, DACBSP
Alan Z. States, DC, DABCO
John A.M. Taylor, DC, DACBR
John J. Triano, DC, PhD
Zachary Zachman, DC

- This committee has been very busy developing a re-certification plan that will assure continued competence of diplomates. The committee has had on-going meetings over the past nine months including collaboration with several of the chiropractic colleges. The committee plans to publish the new mandatory re-certification guidelines within the next couple of months.

Examination Cut-Score Determination

- This committee meets for each examination to determine the cut score of the examination. The committee undergoes a very lengthy and intense process of critique of each individual question on the examination utilizing an Angoff procedure to assure validity and reliability of the examination as well as assuring the necessary level of competency.

Through the committed collaborative work in these areas, ABCO is assuring a quality emphasis on the Diplomate credential.
ABCO currently has committee openings on the Cut-Score Determination committee and accepts on going letters of interest for other committees.

ABCO Bylaws

ABCO Bylaws are provided in PDF format.

If you do not have Adobe Reader installed, click download to get the free software directly from Adobe.

By Laws